Paleo Cookies for V-Day

So I mentioned in my previous post that I made some cookies for valentine’s day. I actually made them last weekend but it was in the spirit of the day, and I know Chris loves cookies! Here’s how it went.

Ingredients:

3 Cups Almond Flour

1/4 Teaspoon Sea Salt

1/4 Teaspoon Baking Soda

1/2 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract

1/4 Teaspoon Cinnamon

1 Large Egg

1/4 Cup Raw Honey

1/2 Cup Coconut Oil

1/4 Cup Coconut Milk

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In large bowl combine almond flour, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon.

In a smaller bowl combine coconut oil & honey.

Combine mixtures and add in coconut milk.

Separate dough into two or more sections.

Cover with sheet of parchment paper and roll to about 1/8 inch thick.

Freeze for about 45 minutes, then use cookie cutter to cut out shapes (I didn’t have a heart shaped one so I used a pint glass and just made round ones).

Bake for 10-15 minutes!

I also made up some paleo “frosting” to put on the top of them since it was for a special occasion 😉

Ingredients:

1 Cup Coconut Milk

1 1/4 Cup Coconut Oil

1/2 Cup Raw Honey

1/4 Celtic Sea Salt

5 Teaspoons Arrowroot Powder

1/8 Cup Coconut Milk (to dissolve arrowroot powder)

Juice from 1/2 a Lemon

Chopped Rosemary

Powdered Ginger

Directions:

In a small saucepan combine coconut milk, oil, salt and honey.

In separate bowl dissolve arrowroot powder in 1/8 cup coconut milk.

At low heat add paste to mixture

Stir on low until mixture thickens slightly and remove from heat.

Let cool, and then add to blender  mixing in the lemon juice, ginger, and rosemary, until it becomes smooth and silky.

Refrigerate for 45 minutes to an hour.

Spread onto those fresh from the oven cookies and enjoy!

Sorry I don’t have any pictures, they got eaten up so quick I never got a good opportunity! At least that says something about how they turned out!

Cheers

Leave a comment