Valentine’s Day & A Lovely Anniversary Dinner

I hope that everyone had a lovely Vanlentine’s Day yesterday! For me Valentine’s Day is an interesting conundrum. On one hand I don’t like the idea of commercializing love and simplifying it into candy and chocolates but on the other hand I love that there is a day dedicated to really focusing on and cherishing the ones you love. Whether it is a significant other, a best friend, your family, or your kitten there is always some relationship to be thankful for and you get a whole day dedicated to making those people feel loved. So, with that being said I always try and air on the side of optimism and use Valentine’s Day for good instead of evil. Even if it is just giving cookies to people you work with (I made paleo cookies with lemon ginger icing!), or making a scrap book of an amazing year spent together for your significant other, or even just saying I love you to your mom and pop. The littlest gestures often mean the most, and in our busy day to day lives we often forget to let those closest to us know they are special. In honor of the day, even if it is a day late (keep the love going as I always say…heh) here are some of my favorite images of the day, just a few little fun tidbits.

On another note, I can’t believe it’s already been a year, a pretty fantastic year at that. I think I scored with this one, I mean he even bought me a gorgeous bouquet of white tulips! My absolute favorite btw….So for our 1-year and also I suppose Valentines Day 😉 we celebrated with an outing to Hunger in Fremont. They had a special Valentine’s Day menu and wine pairing that was amazing to say the least.

We started with some crispy pork belly over a cabbage and bacon fennel mixture and dates in a balsamic reduction with blue cheese ice cream. Yeah you heard me, Blue. Cheese. Ice. Cream! Just a little dab of that one the nicely warmed dates, was to die for. They paired the appetizers with a smooth red wine for the dates and a nice dry white for the pork. The second course was a fennel salad with red onions and grapefruit, topped with a nice balsamic vinaigrette paired with a pretty delicious Spanish Tempranillo. For dinner I had the bison with fennel and grapefruit on a bed of couscous, while chris had the bolognese. Both were incredible, and both paired with really good rich red wines. Then finally to top it off we shared a saffron creme brulee with a cranberry sauce and almond biscotti. The dessert was paired with a Grenache which I wasn’t a huge fan of, a little to sweet for my taste, but no complaints here. Everything was over the top incredible, plus I got to share it with Chris, it was a perfect night with my perfect guy 🙂 definitely couldn’t have asked for more.

That’s all for now!

Cheers.

Leave a comment