Another Weekend on the Books

Spent another lovely weekend in the city. Though the snow has unfortunately melted and everything is just trying to dry itself out now. It was a beautiful sunny weekend in downtown Seattle. We enjoyed a nice early morning workout at the gym…ok it wasn’t all that nice, the WOD was called “The Chipper” and it just about chipped away my will to live after 50minutes. Ok it wasn’t that bad, I actually felt pretty good, which surprised me! After that we made our weekly trip to the Farmer’s Market, stocking up on veggies and fruits and some fish this week. This is by far my personal favorite of our weekly routines. Once we were all stocked up we headed home to cook up some breakfast. My concoction this weekend was pretty much a frittata, but as always purely paleo! I am excited about trying this with other combinations of fresh meats and veggies, it is so easy and makes a good amount of leftovers, which is always a plus!

Pulled this picture off Google, but it looks just like the one I made! I slacked on the picture taking this weekend, apologies!

Zucchini Frittata:

1 Large Zucchini

2 Roma Tomatoes

Mushrooms

Black Forest Ham

Onion

Spices: Garlic, Thyme, Basil, Rosemary, & Fresh Cilantro

6 Eggs

Directions:

Chop all of the veggies and saute in a cast iron skillet with olive oil, until tender. Add in the sliced ham and spices stirring a few more times. Mix the eggs together adding a little bit of olive oil for texture and pour over veggie/ham mixture. Stir a few times and turn heat down to medium. Put a lid on the pan and let cook for about 10 minutes, just until eggs are almost all the way cooked through. Take off burner and stick in the over to broil for the finishing touch. Slice it up like a pie and serve with some avocado and habanero pepper sauce.

It was delicious, and the leftovers tasted even better after a few laps up at the mountain Sunday morning ๐Ÿ™‚

We had also picked up some “fancy jumbo scampis” from one of the fish vendors at the Market, and oh boy were they delicious. I cooked them up in some spices, onion and coconut milk and served them with mushrooms and kale. They tasted like little miniature lobster tails, I would highly recommend them! Also made a sort of salad with thinly sliced cucumber, tomatoes, and radishes dressed with garlic olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt, and freshly ground pepper. Tangy and tasty if I do say so myself, a good pairing with the sweeter creamier texture of the coconut milk shrimp.

Just to mix things up a bit and get out of the house again, Saturday afternoon we ventured out to South Center Mall…..yes, you heard me correct! South Center Mall, home of The Cheesecake Factory and some of the most epic people watching I’ve had the pleasure of encountering in a long time. The mall itself is overwhelming, and as all malls do, it slightly creeps me out, but it is always a fun adventure once or twice a year. I ended up getting some cute stuff at some pretty great prices! Gotta love the good finds at Forever 21 and H&M, it takes some digging but usually I come out with some good stuff. Only picture online I could find of what I bought, again slacking with the picture taking this weekend…Also picked up a cute Springy type blue and white striped button-up tunic, as well as a pretty blue and gold striped long sleeve slouchy top. I heart new clothes ๐Ÿ™‚

Letterman Style Jacket (Forever XXI)

Along with our Market trip, the mall, and the usual cooking extravaganza we also rekindled our relationship with the climbing gym this weekend, which was long overdue. I can attest to that with the torn open blisters on my hands today! Such a good time though, check out Stone Gardens in Ballard it’s great. They also have a new location in Bellevue which I have yet to try out.

Overall it was a pretty relaxing weekend, but now it’s back to the office for another week of work! Though I’ve got some good recipe blogs in store! Stay tuned!

Cheers.

Leave a comment