Tea Time

Since I was abstaining from liquor during the month of January I ended up drinking quite a bit of tea. I love tea in its most basic forms, especially Jasmine tea, it is so warm and comforting. But I thought it would be fun to get a little creative since I was drinking so much of it over the course of the month.

London Fog

This one was a favorite from my college years while working at “Stan’s Coffee Shop”. It is simple enough but oh so delicious, and paired with a fuzzy blanket, a book, and my little kitten curled up on my lap, it can’t get much better.

All you have to do it brew a strong cup of earl grey tea and stir in about a tablespoon of honey, I used raw fireweed honey. Transfer to a pint glass or large mug, should fill approximately 3/4 of your cup. Then, if you have an espresso maker steam enough almond milk to top off your glass. If you are like me and don’t have an espresso maker, heat up your almond milk on the stove, stirring frequently, until it starts to froth, and add to tea. Enjoy!

Thai Tea

This one is my take on the traditional Thai Iced Tea drink you can get at most Thai restaurants. I don’t do so well with dairy so this version to me is much more enjoyable!

I happen to have some Thai Tea leaves from a friend of mine that used to live in Thailand, but if you don’t have that you can follow this recipe to make the flavorful black tea concoction. When I brew the tea I tend to make a big mason jar of it and store it in the fridge so I don’t have to brew it each time I want to make a glass. Brew enough tea to fill your mason jar, making sure that the tea is nice and strong, you want to be able to taste all those wonderful flavors. Then I mix in honey instead of the traditional sugar while the tea is still hot, about 1 tablespoon for every 12 oz of liquid. Once your tea is chilled, fill a glass with ice, fill about 3/4 of the way with black tea, and then top off with coconut milk. This is a great refresher on a warm day, after a workout, or paired with a spicy Thai dinner.

Turmeric Tea

This last one is a recipe I found about a year ago, and it is a nice warm creamy drink with a bit of a bite to it. A nice change from the standard herbal or flowery teas. Plus I will take any opportunity I can to use turmeric and cardamom, they are two of my favorite spices.

To start gently warm the coconut milk (you can also use almond milk for this) about 8 ounces (1 cup). Once heated add in remaining ingredients;

1/2 tsp turmeric

1/2 inch round slice of fresh ginger

Dash of cayenne pepper

1/2 – 1 teaspoon honey

Dash of cardamom & Cinnamon

Stir until smooth. For a stronger ginger taste leave the round in, otherwise remove. If you like a frothier drink you can steam the mixture with an espresso maker or a hand held frother like this one. Otherwise pour into mug, sprinkle some additional cinnamon & cardamom on top and enjoy!

Hope you enjoy making some of these delicious beverages! This month since I am letting myself have alcohol again I will do a litte cocktail post on some of my favorite make at home drinks!

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 648 other followers

